Story provided by the Kalamunda Bulldogs



A remarkable year for young Kalamunda Bulldogs forward Alec Campbell has just got even better.

The 15 year old Campbell started the year training in the West Coast Pirates Academy, then he got selected to play in the Perth City Under 18’s ANZAC Kiwi vs. City representative game, added to that he got selected to represent Western Australia in the Affiliated States Championships and now he has been selected in the U18′s Combined Affiliated States team that will participate in the Australian Schoolboys Championships in Darwin.

The Bulldogs would like to congratulate the other players from WA selected in the same side – Tyler Thomas, Willem Boshoff, Sam Defiddes, Kiam Fletcher & Falcon Peni

The Bulldogs would also like to congratulate forward Foli Waru [18] who has signed to play with the Warriors in the Holden Cup [Under 20’s National Youth competition] and Nela Vi [17] who has signed on to play in Toowoomba, QLD for the rest of the year. Both players made their First Grade debuts under coach Frank Ah Koui this season and their quality will be missed.

Both players have followed the same route as another Bulldog in Reginald Churchward who is plying his trade for the Norths Devils in the FOGS Colts Challenge.

On behalf of the Bulldogs and the Western Australian Rugby League community we congratulate these players and we wish the two Bulldog pups best of luck on their future endeavours.



WA Under 12’s Coach Jody Epiha has selected his final team that will travel to Wollongong from August 9th to 16th for the Under 12’s National Championships.

Congratulations to the following players and all the best in your final few weeks of training.


Tamati Clarke – Bungaree PS

Ratu (TJ) Naleba – Beeliar PS

Tuakana Rangihaeta – Gilmore College

Tjay Clarke – Settlers PS

Kaya Symon – Makybe Rise PS

Aoterangi Manaihera – Leda PS

Trey Peni – Yangebup PS

Orlando Calder – Warnbro PS

Oreon Ley – Makybe Rise PS

Brandon Dargaville – Clarkson PS

Ethan Boyce – Beldon PS

Luke Callan – East Butler PS

Jason Unuka – Aranmore CPS

Makarauria (Macky) Tipiwai – Meadow Springs PS

Dominic Kaukasi – Arbor Grove PS

Kaelin Heremaia – Waikiki PS

Saili Pomare-Tutagalevao – Hillarys PS


Shadow Player = Niccopino Hohepa

The Rockingham Sharks have reaffirmed themselves as final contenders with a 38-10 win over the Kalamunda Bulldogs under lights at Franklin Offshore Sporting Complex.

The Sharks got first blood with a try to Richie Hicks before a Kalamunda try kept the visitors right in it.

Both sides would go try for try before a run of tries from the home side left Kalamunda shellshocked.

Once Keelyn Tuuta-Edwards put on a try to give the Sharks a 12-10 they never looked back, running out 38-10 winners and gaining some valuable points difference at the same time.

Rockingham are now two points outside the top four and will look to a big clash with Willagee at home next weekend to break into finals contention.

By Justin Fris

North Beach cantered to a 40-4 victory over Willagee, on a gloomy afternoon at Webber Reserve.

The Sea Eagles simply did as they pleased throughout the match, facing minimal resistance.

Dustin Hume relished the winter weather and was involved in several tries.

No one could fault the Bears’ endeavour; they simply lacked playmakers against bigger bodies.

Trailing 18-0 at half time, the Bears had several sets bog down, which saw their heads drop.

Young Sea Eagle Josh Rogers again played well, cutting a formidable path in the middle of the field.

Coach Ryan Gundry would have enjoyed the ruthless display, ahead of next week’s bye.

For Willagee,  they will need a rethink on how to ensure a spot in this year’s finals series.

By Kristian Dwyer

South Perth have again reaffirmed their supremacy against another Premiership contender with a 23-16 win over the Fremantle Roosters. WA Rugby League Champion Isaac Thomas capped of a great 200th game with two tries in his Man of the Match performance.

The Lions got off to a great start with Jordan Jacob the first to cross after Mark Porges found a hole with a grubber kick early on but failed to convert.

Harry Debique would add the 2 points however, converting from a penalty with 10 minutes to go in a frenetic, wet first half.

Impressive James Aspden pulled one back for the visitors to tie it all up from dummy half, which was converted by Allen Cowen, but again, with five minutes remaining, South Perth converted a penalty to regain parity.

But Fremantle were not to be outdone, with Billy Coughlan pouncing on a Delane Edwards Grubber to take a shock lead into the break.

Despite being on of the few sides to lead against the Lions at half time this season, the Fremantle Roosters could not match that intensity in the second half.

Back to back tries to 200-gamer Isaac Thomas and a defensive lapse from the Fremantle defence saw South Perth’s lead blow out to 22-12 with 10 minutes to go.

Despite a Wellington Tulilou try for the visitors which cut the lead back to six, the moment belonged to Lions half Wayde Kelly.

Lining up a kick from 30m, Kelly snuck it between the sticks to give South Perth their 9th win of the season and continue arguably one of the most impressive undefeated streaks in WARL history.

Isaac 200 finished 2